Bloggers Award X 2!

Two more awards! I am on a roll! The very talented Blue and Snow have respectively nominated me for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award & the Sunshine Award. Both have been steadfast supporters of my newbie blog and I am so very grateful for their recognition.

Google tells me that the Sisterhood Award recognizes the unique voices of women across the world. This is so appropriate as the kdrama blogosphere is definitely dominated by our gender. Sisterhood, girl power, women helping women; how awesome is that?

sisterhood-award

And also according to Google, the Sunshine Award is given to bloggers who bring sunshine to the blogging world. How sweet is that? Thank you Blue! Thank you Snow!

sunshineaward

Since the rules for both are very similar I will take the liberty to combine and change it up a bit.

Rules

  • Link the blogger who nominated you on your post.
  • Put the award logo on your blog.
  • Answer the questions that were given to you.
  • Make up new questions for your nominees to answer.
  • Nominate blogs and make sure they are aware they are nominated.
  • When you have responded, leave a link in the comment of the person who nominated you.

And here come my answers to Blue’s questions!

1) Is there a popular drama that you actually never liked? If so, tell us why.

Ahem…let me see. One that I slogged through to the end or one that I dropped? To be fair to the drama, let me go with one that I actually finished but didn’t really like it. My Love from Another Star? Will I be crucified for saying this? Why didn’t I like it? Honestly, I was unable to connect with Jeon Ji-Hyeon’s character. She was a spoiled brat with a sense of entitlement who picked on her staff and was also a bit of an airhead? She did redeem herself towards the end but first impressions stuck with me. Also not crazy about the whole alien theme but I did finish it.

MylovefromAnotherStar

2) Which drama trapped you forever in Kdramaland? How did you get to know it?

God of Study was my first foray into the land of kdramas. Summer of 2010. My twin convinced me to watch it and I thoroughly enjoyed it but it was Heartstrings that made me a kdrama addict.

GodofStudy2

3) Is there one unknown/barely known drama that you found amazing? If so why? What was good about it? Take this opportunity to promote it.

Thank You. I was in kdrama withdrawal two years ago and nothing current at that time appealed to me so I started going through the list on gooddrama.net from A to Z reading the brief synopsis. When I finally got to Thank You it peaked my interest and I gave it a try. Let’s say the rest is history. Why? It was incredibly touching! Here’s the link to my MDL review!

thankyou

4) What is your favorite drama OST?

Not sure if it is because Heartstrings was one of my earlier kdramas but Jung Yong Hwa’s Because I Miss You really connected with me and has remained faithfully on my playlist.

5) What is your favorite korean dish?

Bibimbap with lots of chili bibim sauce. Yummy!

bibimbap

6) What kind of post do you enjoy writing most?

Short elevator pitch reviews or random musings. I am definitely not one to write lengthy recaps or in-depth reviews. I leave that to the many, very capable bloggers on my below nominee list that do an incredible job in this department.

7) Which actor/actress makes you cry everytime they cry?

I do tear up quite easily while watching a tear-jerker but it is the heart-rending moments that get me going rather than the actors or actresses themselves.

8) Tea, coffee or hot chocolate?

Nothing like a good cup of frothy coffee to get me through the day.

Coffee

9) Besides korean dramas do you watch tv shows from other countries? Which countries?

I love BBC period dramas. Prior to the days of kdrama indulgent, I watched everything Masterpiece Theatre had to offer. I confess to have watched every remake of Jane Austen’s especially those adapted by Andrew Davies. I also own boxed sets of Pride & Prejudice, North & South, Wives & Daughters…the list goes on.

10) If you could be one kdrama character for a week, who would you be?

Just for one week? That would be Kang Ja in Angry Mom! Which woman wouldn’t want to look 19 at 34, have an 18-year-old heart-throb swoon over you and better still, be able to kick ass against the baddies…sign me up!

And now, over to Snow’s questions.

1) Your favourite TV series other than Asian.

Current series? Downton Abbey. Have been watching since Season 1. Super excited to see Matthew Goode in the season finale. Fingers crossed he is back as Mary’s final love interest in Season 6 😀

downtonabbey1

2) Your favourite actors/actresses: Korean and Non-Korean.

Here’s my favourite Asian actors/actresses on MDL.

3) The best smell in the world is…….

The best smell in the world is the aroma of freshly baked bread….yum yum!

4) Most inspiring quote from a movie.

Forrest Gump –  ‘Life was like a box of chocolates; you never know what you’re gonna get.’

boxofchocs

5) Is chemistry all about skinship and kissing?

No, not in my books.

6) Ballad. Yay or nay? Why?

Nay. Not really the musical type.

7) Are you into Kpop? If yes, then your favourite group/artist. If no, any other favourite band or singer.

No, not really into kpop. I don’t have favourite singers/bands. I just like random OST irrespective of the artist. The only kpop band I have some sort of affinity to is CNBlue.

Nominees

Again, I am going to break all the rules here.

Instead of the traditional nominees, I have chosen to share with you the wonderful blogs that have inspired me. These blogs have shone brightly in the drama blogging community. They are simply awesome and are ones that I admire and follow religiously and here’s why.

I’ve also linked to their Sunshine Award or Sisterhood Award posts so you can read up a little something about the persona behind these marvellous creations.

Firstly, I would be remiss for not mentioning Blue and Snow who have awesome blogs in their own rights so don’t forget to check them out!

MyDramaTea – I don’t even watch j-drama, c-drama or tw-drama unless highly, highly recommended by my twin who knows my taste like no other but I follow Heisui’s blog. Strange, eh? She is so very creative and artistic and to top it off, an excellent writer too. I visit her blog simply to be inspired and to read about her random thoughts and to see what she is up to.

Jandoe – I am a huge fan of Jandoe’s You Don’t Know Me blog. Her writing is so powerful and impactful, it is hard to believe she is an engineer by training. She could have fooled me. There is an edge to her writing but it is honest, insightful, retrospective and it reads like fiction. I can easily picture her book on the NY Times best seller list one day.

Dramajjang – I only recently became acquainted with Dramajjang but have quickly become impressed with its meticulous, and in-depth rundown of k and jdramas. And it is also often full of frame by frame screencaps! If Dramabeans doesn’t do it for you, this is where you want to be. Definitely worth checking out!

The Fan Girl Verdict – This girl definitely knows her dramas and has strong opinions about them. I like the way her reviews are broken down and structured with her short and long verdicts, character by character breakdowns and finally her very own fangirl grade. She is also an excellent and flawless writer with her very own official mascot, the adorable Cookie the Pug.

The Talking Cupboard – For a non Korean she’s a Sageuk maestro and a bonafide expert on Korean culture 101. Mimi’s very successful blog ranks high up there with many of the kdrama blogging powerhouses.

 

18 thoughts on “Bloggers Award X 2!

  1. Pingback: The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award | the talking cupboard

  2. Oy oy oy, loved reading through your answers, but the ending of your article was a more than pleasant surprise! Our little humble recent blog inspiring? :O *hides at the corner in South Korean student punishment stasis while soju drops fall from the ceiling on my forehead* Thanks a lot for your generous words, wholeheartedly! But i have to admit that the effort i put in reviewcaps takes lots of time and it has started exhausting me somehow, i’m trying to figure out less-is-more ways in order to write more articles with less words but still writing down everything i have to say. Thanks a lot once again 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Not like My Love From Another Star due to a failure to connect to Cheon Song-yi!? Blasphemy! LOL.

    But I totally agree with your selection of Because I Miss You from Heartstrings. I looved that song too!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for the love Mitta! You rock! ❤

    Heartstrings and God of study? Never seen them but I have added them to my watchlist. Everything you mention that I haven't watched I add (including Thank You and New Heart a few weeks ago), the biggest problem is TIME!! Just hope I will be able to watch some of them this year.

    Jong-Hwa is both good at acting and singing, CNBlue is a very awesome band!

    Ohh yeah, love me some bibimbap too ^^

    I'm the same when it comes to lengthy recaps and in-depth reviews, I don't have the talent and patience for this. Much respect for those who can do it.

    Thanks for taking the time to answer. Enjoyed reading the post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Morning Blue! You gals have been great! I’ve learned so much from all of you as if I’ve been through a crash course of kdrama blogging university…haha. If you have to pick one from my list, do Thank You first.

      Looks like you and I have many similar likes…are you my virtual twin? 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Awww..thanks you so, so much! 🙂 *feels honored*
    I think I should add Downtown Abbey to my plan list.
    Yay that you also loved Heartstrings! I know it’s not perfect but the feels it gave me…just the way one feels when one has her first crush…I just loved the couple, the way they used to steal glances and everything..haha
    Hey..you forgot to mention your favorite non Korean actors 😛
    Love your blog…happy writing! Even I can’t do long posts…hehe

    Liked by 2 people

    • And I can totally understand if you didn’t like YFAS. I enjoyed it a lot but I didn’t have any huge emotional connect with the couple or characters the way others had. It was a great ride but in a superficial way.

      Liked by 2 people

    • Hello Snow! Been following you on Twitter….hope you are enjoying your internship 😀 Btw…Min Ho’s hair finally looks decent lol!

      The first couple seasons of Downton Abbey were excellent and then it kind of dragged a bit in subsequent years with many characters moving on but I still enjoy it. Next Season is the last so looking forward to see if Matthew Goode is back to capture Mary’s heart.

      I don’t really have favourite non korean actors/actresses since all I watch nowadays are primarily kdramas ;^)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Intenrship is not as great as I hoped but still, it’s good.
        Actually I stopped watching Falling For Innocence…wasn’t invested much in the first place and then the interest just went away. Glad you are finally liking the hair! Haha 😀

        Like

Chime In!

