Kdrama Conundrum: What to Watch Next?

‘Tis the time to ponder over such a question. A simple, seemingly trivial but at the same time an important personal decision. One that will define my emotional meter, what I blog about, posts I follow, possible inspirations for my romance stories and many more.

2015MayKdramas

What about those dramas on my perennial watch list, you may ask. I am saving those for days where I can freely marathon without guilt. They also serve as filler during cycles of kdrama drought.

At this time I am happily ensconced in my routine of two or three presently airing dramas while balancing all other hobbies and obligations;- writing, blogging, being a mom, keeping fit, doing chores, earning that pay check etc.

My current trio of kdramas are well underway. Angry Mom is sprinting with aplomb towards the finish line with two episodes to go. Girl who Sees Smells is three quarter way there with the big question mark whodunnit mystery almost all figured out. And Min Ho’s almost got his girl in Falling for Innocence and is on the fast track to becoming decent and likeable.

So what’s next?

This is the time I go lurking at all my favourite kdrama blogs to check out what’s upcoming, read up on commentaries and previews and soak up any available teasers and trailers.

Orange Marmalade

On first impression, everything screams no for me on this one. Another high school teen drama? Vampire theme? Nah! Not interested…moving on. But…but…I watched the teasers and quite frankly they sold me.

Yeo Jin Gu. Wow! What a performance. That one teary scene. I have never seen a male lead cry like that and makes it so believable and gut wrenching. And I don’t even know the backdrop to this scene. Crazy huh?

The second teaser also got me with his puppy eyed longing stares and angst over the oblivious Seol Hyun who is too busy mulling over her own hidden identity and secrets to bother with romancing the handsome class president.

And the final reason for my interest is none other than CNBlue’s Lee Jong Hyun. I am a big fan of his and loved him as Colin in A Gentleman’s Dignity. Understated but he did show emotional range and held his own amidst these older gentlemen. His guitar strumming rendition of the hit song My Love is unforgettable. But I am equally distraught thinking of him as the dejected second lead here.

I am watching this one for sure. Got the premiere date marked on my kdrama calendar.

Producer

One reason to watch. Gong Hyo Jin! Unlike some other mega stars, she seems to have a knack for picking the right projects and excelling in them.

Gong plays the role of a veteran PD who is outspoken, jaded, and has stepped on one too many toes. Sounds a lot like her character in It’s Okay That’s Love. She is paired up with three other credible leads in Cha Tae Hyun, IU and Kim Soo Hyun.

The teasers are quite funny. I especially like seeing Kim Soo Hyun in this preppy role as the wide eyed innocent recruit who ditched law school to become a PD.

If these are not good enough reasons to watch, kdrama writer Park Ji Eun stamp on the project will probably boost ratings from the get go based on her hugely successful 2014 hit My Love from the Star and her second partnership with Kim Soo Hyun.

The plot revolves around the lives and challenges of these producers and the celebrities they handle. On this premise alone, it does not tingle my kdrama sensibilities but based on the aforementioned reasons I have to give it a try.

Warm and Cozy

Hong Sisters, Beautiful Jeju Cinematography, Kang So Ra

The teaser is hilarious. After seeing Kang So Ra in Doctor Stranger and Misaeng, I am not accustomed to seeing her play comedic role but on this teaser alone she might just be able to pull it off.

Yoo Yeon Seok is equally fun-loving, child-like and pesky in the usual Hong sisters portrayal of the male lead. This looks to me like a story of role reversal where the male lead is the sweetheart and the female lead is the jerk with a history.

He, the free spirited one who decides to open a restaurant in Jeju because of a woman and she, leaves Seoul for the tranquility of Jeju looking for a new beginning after losing her job, and her boyfriend.

The story and plot lines may be predictable but it is Hong sisters after all. You can never write them off. We could be in for a few twists and surprises. On the surface, this is building up to be a classic rom-com with plenty of laughs and heart rending moments awaiting the audience.

Do these three dramas tingle your kdrama palate?

7 thoughts on “Kdrama Conundrum: What to Watch Next?

  1. I’m going to check out all of them, ha. No guarantees I’ll stick with any though. 🙂 Warm & Cosy seems like the least interesting one to me at this point but you never know.

    My fist encounter with Yeo Jin Gu was in ‘Giant’ as the kid version of the male lead and he was already great there. I remember musing that he is going to be a real heartbreaker when he grows up. *g* I’ve sen him in quite a few dramas since then and he just keeps getting better.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Totally! I’m mostly looking forward to Warm and Cozy and Producer. I had the same feelings for Orange Marmalade but Yeo Jin Gu looks great in the teasers, so I’m gonna give it a try. I haven’t seen any of his previous works but as everyone can’t stop praising him, I think this is the chance to see him finally!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gosh! Didn’t know that Hong Sisters have an upcoming drama. I’m excited for it! Its Kang Sora and Hong Sisters after all. Plus Yoo Yeon Seok gave me the 2nd male lead syndrome in Replay 1994, so I’m going to watch for him:)

    I am so looking forward to Producers as well because of my fave female lead, GHJ and also because of Kim So Hyun.

    I just realized, after I read your post, that the Orange Marmalade is based on the webtoon manga with the same title. I read the manga and I really liked it so I’m also gonna watch it.

    All in all, hahah. I’ll watch those three. I’m excited and thankful that even though this summer is hot and dry, the upcoming kdramas shows have so much potential. Thanks drama gods!

    Right now, I am only watching Angry Mom but I’m gonna catch up on the others soon.

    Thank you so much for this list and the teaser link! I’m such a lazy kid when it comes to searching for those things. Haha..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi there! Happy to make your acquaintance and thanks for stopping by! Glad to see these dramas hold your interest too and the very fact that you liked the webtoon must be twice the reason to watch Orange Marmalade! Good to have that glowing endorsement. I am really intrigued with that one myself. Cheers!

      Liked by 1 person

Chime In!

