Potpourri: Blogging, Writing and Kdramas

Hello! An-nyeong!

It’s harder than I thought…getting back into blogging and writing. Nine weeks is a long time to be away from this craft. The brain’s gone into deep freeze and whatever creative juices I thought I had, had simply abandoned me.

Something to be said about constancy and discipline.

writers-block011

But life’s got a way of putting things in perspectives. After a sad and tragic Friday the 13th, some things don’t matter as much anymore….

But I still love to write. And I do love kdramas. So the muse is there but the words elude me.

Just do it. Nike says.

So here I am…back doing what I love.

Though I came up empty during this long hiatus: no post, no new chapters for my kdrama inspired story WtSF, but I did finish two kdramas. At least I’ve got my priorities straight 🙂

Without further ado, here’s my brief first and final impressions on She Was Pretty and The Man Who Can’t Get Married.

She Was Pretty

This came highly recommended from fellow kdrama blogger, HanaKimi91 @ Dramajjang. The premise of lovers reunited with strong female characters and backstory of a fashion magazine editorial team was enough for me to take the plunge. I was not disappointed. The show’s got enough zing to keep me watching.

She Was Pretty01

A rom-com of unconditional love, forgiving love and love that surpases what the eye can see. Quite beautifully done. But my favourite part of all, no evil characters to sap my emotional energy.

But what I love best is the credible friendship between the two best friends. These BFFs attachment and affection for each other is sincere and natural. Despite the wrongs that Ha Ri inflicted, albeit non-maliciously, their genuine care and love for each other helped get them through the misunderstandings and heartaches. Thank you Writer-nim. No twisted backstabbing or endless missed opportunities to right one wrong.

Hmm. SLS. Though I rarely catch the SLS bug, Siwon made it hard for me not to root for him. How could Shin Hyuk not end up with Hye Jin? Never mind, that’s for another day. His character is super funny, truthful, endearing and is the highlight of the show. It is a breath of fresh air. No unnecessary tears, no pitiful monologues…simply excellent acting by an all around adorable guy. The bromance between him and Sung Joon makes me giggle like a child salivating over sprinkles on a cupcake.

The romance between Hye Jin and Sung Joon, though unexceptional, is cute and fun loving. Not quite enough to make me go for the tissue box. I’d happily leave those stomach knotting, gut wrenching feels and depleted tissue box for another show. 

There are a few nagging questions for sure. One that confuses me is the unexplainable transformation of the poised, elegant young Hye Jin into a goofy, passe, clumsy adult Hye Jin. Scratching my head. The show also never quite closed the loop on Sung Joon’s weird eating habits and Ha Ri’s dysfunctional family. But these holes don’t make the show any less watchable. It is a comfy watch, a nice way to unwind after a long stressful day like the warmth of a fresh mug of steeped tea on a cold rainy day.

The Man Who Can’t Get Married

A show about an eccentric, obsessive-compulsive 40 year old bachelor who swears off marriage. He is someone that cherishes his independence and guards his privacy and aloneness with all his might.

But his life goes topsy turvy when he meets his new neighbour, 26 year old Yoo Jin and her pet dog Sang Ja, and Doctor Jang Moon Jung, a 40 year old spinster. Unlike Jae Hee, Moon Jung wants to be married but was previously jilted. She is holding out for her ultimate soulmate amid protests from her dear father who wants to marry her off to the next living, breathing man of acceptable scruples and standing.

The Man Who Cant Get Married01

Jae Hee’s character parallels the Academy award winning role played by Jack Nicholson in As Good As It Gets. He is frankly quite annoying and unlovable. As the show progresses we get glimpses of his kindness and empathy for his fellow human beings especially towards Moon Jung.

Despite the show’s quirkiness I did enjoy it for what it is, my expectations neither here nor there. The cast is stellar; the ladies especially are all outstanding; the friendship between Moon Jung and Yoo Jin despite the age gap is refreshingly real. Delightfully no evil, OTT antagonist if we exclude the creepy stalker. The meddling mother and father are understated in the realm of kdrama demanding parent trope.

Perhaps it is also a tad unbelievable that three equally successful and beautiful women could fall for an oddity of a character like Jae Hee. His mystic certainly adds to his charm. A twist on the all girls want bad boys trope.

The ending is simple and expected but their reunion meeting deprives me of butterflies nor the roll on the floor laughter that their initial encounter provided. It is also not explicit if Jae Hee ultimately agreed to tie the knots but all things hint towards a blissful forever after. Happy ending. Can’t ask for more.

4 thoughts on “Potpourri: Blogging, Writing and Kdramas

  1. The Man Who Can’t Get Married is a remake of the Japanese original Kekkon Dekinai Otoko. Abe Hiroshi was fantastic as the protagonist and it is to his credit that he manages to make an annoying character lovable. While I like Ji Jin Hee very much, he was not a patch on the original. At times, it was like Ji Jin Hee was just copying Abe’s mannerisms and it was painful to watch. I suggest you give Kekkon Dekinai Otoko a go – the drama takes a look at the modern day social culture of Japan and besides Abe’s superb performance, it has a very solid supporting cast and is a lot of fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Junny! Thanks for letting me know. I hadn’t done much research on this show….just sorta plunged into it. It does intrigue me that the MC can be lovable because I sure didn’t love Ji Jin Hee in this one…maybe there were some sweet moments but mostly I found his mannerisms aggravating. Good to have this in my back pocket. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved everything about She Was Pretty. Such a fun and pleasant watch.

    Ooh, The Man Who Can’t Get Married sounds pretty interesting. I need to find time to check that out. I will add it to my list 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Haha! As it’s title, a ‘pretty’ show to sit back and enjoy 🙂 Watch TMWCGM only if you don’t mind a MC that is pig-headed, clueless and somewhat annoying 🙂 But there are enough funny moments sprinkled throughout with a decent storyline to keep the interest up.

      Liked by 1 person

Chime In!

