The Year That Was: Kdrama & More

Not quite the one year anniversary yet but tis the season for year-end reviews and new year resolutions. Jumping on the bandwagon! Here I come, looking back at the year that was.

Mittasw-IrishSaying01

Rather than a smile, I can bravely say I can look back and laugh at myself. And, yes, I still have a dream, maybe the dream is a tad grounded, a tad smaller, but it is still a dream.

But most importantly, I can look ahead and say I’ve graduated from preschool to kindergarten with a sense of awareness rather than with flying colours. I am more aware of my capabilities and my limitations. And I’ve definitely learned a thing or two about writing fiction and blogging. And despite the ups and down, the good outweighs the bad, the happy moments outweigh the sad and so this whimsical passion will live on for another day.

My Year in Kdramaland

Misaeng has forever redefined the world of kdrama for me, raising the bar a notch higher in my books. It sits atop my self-constructed pedestal yet to be toppled. And 2015 has come and almost gone and no show has come close to toppling it. (imho)

2015 did produce its share of decent and enjoyable dramas. But I only managed to complete 11 and dropped 3. Many of the ones I did end up watching were combos of romance, melo and some rom coms with charming characters and believable love stories. Mind you, the road to forever after for our fated OTPs were never straight forward, always filled with potholes and cliffhangers.

Healer10

Favourite drama of 2015 is none other than Healer though technically it started in 2014 but ended in 2015. The production’s got the formula figured out: a touch of romance, eye-popping action, jaw dropping plot twists, suspenseful moments, and moving relationships that kept me glued for the entire show. Not to mention Ji Chang Wook was more than just pure eye candy and Ajumma was simply awesome and entertaining to watch.

Notable mentions go to Angry Mom for daring to be different, Oh My Ghostess for friendships that transcend the living, My Love Eun Dong for a throwback to old-fashioned love story, and She Was Pretty for its bold statement that one does not have to be model-like pretty to be loved. 

YearEndCollage01

2015 is also the year of the women in kdrama. In past years male protagonists usually grab my attention more than their female counterparts. But Kim Hee Sun and Kim Hyun Joo changed it all. Kim Hee Sun made me believe in Angry Mom and Kim Hyun Joo is nothing short of spectacular in I Have a Lover. Her multi-faceted performance as the cold, aloof Hae Gang, the compassionate and saintly amnesia Hae Gang and the motherly, hillbilly Yong Gi is Oscar worthy. She is the primary reason I’m completely and utterly hooked on this show. It’s still airing and thus I will reserve the final verdict for another day.

IHaveALover10

Now…over to the year that was as a romance writer and a blogger….

A Year of Firsts

  • emerged from the proverbial writer’s closet (*phew*)
  • shared my first kdrama inspired romance novel on Wattpad (no, I did not become an overnight Wattpad Star but am grateful to my appreciative readers)
  • self published same novel on Smashwords and e-Sentral (premature perhaps but nothing venture, nothing gained, right?)
  • started a blog (what was I thinking?)
  • entered my first writing competition (and miraculously got honourable mention)
  • put my second kdrama inspired story on WriteOn (eternally grateful for the candid feedback from fellow writers)

What I learned

  • age doesn’t matter (the internet does not discriminate)
  • gender doesn’t matter (kdrama’s not just for the fangirl or Ajummas. Guys love it too!)
  • if blogging was an exam, I’d have failed
  • if writing was my livelihood, I’d be broke
  • writing and blogging is hard work and is not for the faint of heart (hats off to those that have persevered)
  • controversy attracts reads (but it’s just not my cup of tea)
  • one person’s cheesy is another person’s masterpiece (we are all different for a reason!)

The Highlights

  • met some incredible bloggers (Blue, Snow, Timescout, APC, Dramajjang, and Kay – go check out their wonderful blogs!)
  • the number one search term driving traffic to my blog is ‘Orange Marmalade(wow! I thought that show didn’t rank well?)  
  • The good old USofA takes top spot among countries with the most visits and the tiny city-state of Singapore a close second (mind you, my stats nothing to write home about 🙂 )

There! Final post of 2015.

The Year that Was!

Seasons Greetings Everyone! And Best Wishes for 2016!

8 thoughts on “The Year That Was: Kdrama & More

  1. Awesome post. I can definitely relate to just about everything you wrote. Blogging is not for the faint of heart & I’ve had to dial my expectations way back. I’ve pretty much accomplished 1/4 of what I set out to do on my blog this year, but it’s been fun nevertheless. I didn’t expect to meet such a great group of bloggers. The blogging community is the best part of it all! Can’t wait to see what this year has in store.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Elle! So good to hear from you again. We started blogging around the same time and its so good to see us still sticking around. That’s an accomplishment on its own. All the best to you!

      Like

  2. It sounds like you had quite a year of discovery! I didn’t see I Have a Lover, but I saw and loved all of the other 2015 dramas you mentioned. You picked some good ones to be sure. Now it’s on to 2016. New year, new dramas, more fun to be had!

    Liked by 2 people

Chime In!

